top of page

The Photographer/Model Relationship: Best Practices

I decided that the last leg of my Photographer/Model Relationship series (for now, at least) should be on Best Practices. We forget sometimes that even though we are creatives and have free spirits and all that jazz, we are still in a business relationship. And business relationships have best practices. Practices that make those relationships last, thrive, and grow. I'm going to keep my list to five today, simply because I know everyone is just as busy as I am. I'm sure I'll revisit this topic with more practices down the road, so stay tuned!

Be safe. This sounds stupid, but it's so important. Don't do anything you're not comfortable with. Be sure you and your photographer understand which forms of art you are comfortable with and which ones you are not interested in creating. Don’t do anything stupid. For example, climbing onto active railroad tracks. People die that way. Do your research, and you can find inactive tracks like the ones pictured here. But I didn’t take anyone’s word these were inactive, I checked for myself (There were trees growing up through the tracks on both sides and I saw where the tracks dead ended on both sides. I’m pretty serious about the dangers of railroad tracks, but that’s a rant for another day). On the same note, bring a friend with you on your shoots. Preferably, one who could beat someone up if needed. My personal shoot buddy is a physical trainer, to give you an idea.

Be on time. I cannot stress enough how important it is to show up on time. Like seriously, nothing leaves a better impression than a prepared model/photographer. Photographers, bring enough batteries for how long you plan to shoot (duh). Models, I suggest packing a bag that’s comfortable to carry that has things you need for your shoot (I’ll have a post soon on shoot bags). You should never be relying on chance or your shooting partner to take up your slack. On the same note, if you don’t know where you’re going, try to leave early. It’s better to be ten minutes early than ten minutes late. If for some reason you are running late, be sure to communicate that to your shoot partner.

Be interesting. You’re not shooting with someone just to make art and disappear. Business is about networking and building relationships, and this business is no different. What if that person you’re shooting with right now has a very high paying job in the future and needs your expertise? They’re more likely to call you if they enjoyed the shoot and created good work. So talk (see my earlier posts on communicating). Laugh. Enjoy yourself. Model photography (especially trade shoots) should be about having fun and growing, not about shooting and running.

Be innovative. A lot of us shoot a lot. I do 2-4 shoots most weekends. I know some models who do this for a living. So photographers (and models, too) try to come up with a concept or location that is different but along the lines of the portfolios you’re working with. Every shoot has its own touch, sure, but what about your shoot is truly different and interesting? Who’s done it before and how did they do it? How do you ensure your photographs don’t end up replicas of the last shoot done in that style/location? If the person you’re looking to shoot with seems to have one type of photo in their portfolio, suggest something fairly different. And for God’s sake, people, ask to see their portfolio before you work with them. If they seem sketchy, ask around. Back to practice #1. Stay safe, always.

Thank your partners. Everyone thanks their partners differently. I, personally, prefer to send a thank you message when I get home, as well as a photo card when I get pictures (I can do this at $1.50 a card. Contact me if you want details). I like the tangibleness of a card because I assure you, the photographer never forgets the model who sends them a thank you card with their own pictures on it. However you decide to thank your shooting partners, be sure you do it. It establishes you as a person with morals and solidifies your relationship with your shooting partner. No matter how you decide to go about your shoot, no matter what theme or location or partners you’re working with, these practices apply in some shape or form. It’s crucial (for safety and for interesting work) that you are aware of every aspect of your business. Creatives can be a bit scatterbrained at times, believe you me, I understand, but model photography is still a business and must be treated as one. If you have any practices you suggest I add or any comments on the ones I listed, I’d love to hear from you! Drop me a line on Social Media or through my Contact page!

Photography credit: JWPhotography. Check him out on Facebook, Instagram and online at jwphotographycharleston.com.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page