top of page

Defining a Model


The English language is so strange. We define words and then use them completely opposite of their definitions, at times, and at other times very literally. We give words these unspoken definitions or guidelines that are completely made up, and then we stick by those definitions over the actual definitions of the words. (Bear with me, I'm going somewhere with this). So, let's take the word "Model", because it relates to what I'm about to write about. Dictionary.com defines this word many ways, but I'm going to use three of the definitions:

  • a person or thing that serves as a subject for an artist, sculptor, writer, etc.

  • a person whose profession is posing for artists or photographers.

  • a person employed to wear clothing or pose with a product for purposes of display or advertising.

So, in this context, a model is someone who poses, whether that's to show off clothes or to create art is beside the point. But when you think of a model, what do you see? Is she six-foot-something, barely one hundred pounds, somehow still curvy, with legs longer than a giraffe's neck? Why, of course she is. Because our unspoken definition for model is tiny and pretty, something we'd all like to look at. But what is that doing to our sisters, daughters, friends, etc? We all know the body image thing is a huge issue. But are we doing anything about it?

I'm not a small girl. I'm six foot tall, well over 150 pounds, and my curves aren't the kind girls hope for in middle school. I grew up in a house full of beautiful women, all curvier and smaller than I, so I had my days of body image issues. I was never the anorexic or anything, but I had my issues. Self esteem in middle school aged girls is so fragile, and we're destroying them a little more every single day.

But to those girls, middle school, high school, college aged, or beyond, I'm here to tell you. We can over come. Modeling is one of the best things that has ever happened to me, body-image-wise. Being in front of a camera is terrifying at first, but it builds a different type of confidence and willingness to experiment that you never could have expected. To be able to look at your own self in a picture and criticize the form, the pose, etc. without hating your body is a beautiful thing. I could never have gotten to this point without the help of the wonderful photographers I've worked with, and for that I am eternally thankful.

For any girls who would like to get into modeling, feel free to reach out to me. I have connections that can get you started before you turn to an agency. Modeling is a passion of mine, and I enjoy helping girls who love it, but I hate to see modeling destroy self esteem as it sometimes can. Feel free to drop me a line on my contact page or comment on my social media posts with other ways we can build up, not break down, self esteem in our girls (and guys!) of the future.

Photography by Aron Fung Photography, LeightonD Photography, and Relentless Elegance Photography.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page